Devastated. Heartbroken. Sympathetic. Thoughtful.

This is how I have felt for the last three or so hours as of this writing. On December 27, 2016, at 8:55 am PST, Carrie Fisher, known for her role as Princess Leia Organa in the Star Wars franchise, died after suffering a heart attack on the 23rd. I wanted to cry because like so many others, Star Wars has had a huge impact on my life, and Fisher’s performance as Leia helped make the original trilogy what it is.

Then, at about 6pm tonight, on December 28, Carrie Fisher’s mother, Debbie Reynolds, died after experiencing a stroke. Never before have I cried over the death of someone I never knew personally.

I wept as soon as I saw the news as it happened because I could not believe a mother and a daughter had been taken so close together. I immediately began thinking of Fisher’s daughter, Billie Lourd, who is only two years older than I am. So few people really know how she felt at the moments of her mother and grandmother’s passings. If I could, I would personally send my sympathies and love to Lourd, Todd Fisher (Carrie’s brother), and the rest of their family.

Reynolds and Fisher helped define strong female movie stars as Reynolds starred in classic films such as Singing’ in the Rain and The Unsinkable Molly Brown, while Fisher made her own mark in Star Wars, The Blues Brothers, and When Harry Met Sally…

They will be remembered forever. My prayers, thoughts, and love go out to the family and their friends. May Debbie Reynolds and Carrie Fisher rest in peace.

Thank you for reading my little tribute. Sorry this was so brief. Follow me on FaceBook and Twitter to stay updated on all of my reviews and articles.

FaceBook: https://www.facebook.com/thematthewapaul/

Twitter: https://twitter.com/thematthewapaul

“I don’t want my life to intimate art, I want my life to be art.”-Carrie Fisher

“I live right in front of my daughter. I have a little house right in front of her because I can stay in touch. It’s like a little commune, and it’s very nice, because you can be so close. I can see my granddaughter. I live very close to my brother, too, and my son. We’re a very close family.”-Debbie Reynolds

