Ah, Shyamalan. His career has gone nowhere but downhill ever since he became famous with The Sixth Sense. Most people enjoyed Unbreakable, including myself. They say Signs is good. But everything after that, The Village, Lady in the Water, The Happening, The Last Airbender, the worst film I have ever seen, and After Earth, have all been received with disgust and some of these have been called a few of the worst films ever made, and the director who was once praised as the next Spielberg became one of the worst filmmakers working today. To give you an example of how much audience came to despise Shyamalan, go back and watch all of the trailers for After Earth. You will not see his name in any of them. That’s right. His name was so damaged that distributor Columbia Pictures never marketed it as a film made by him.

I have only seen two of Shyamalan’s films, Unbreakable and The Last Airbender. Ever since I saw the latter, I have condemned Shyamalan as a director, producer, and writer because he took Avatar: The Last Airbender, an extraordinary cartoon beloved by millions around the world, and sucked out all the life, soul, and what made it special. To this day, I have refused to watch The Sixth Sense, despite hearing nothing but good things about it my whole life, because of he brutally butchered something that should have been great.

Now, Shyamalan has shown that he can still find work with Split, a psychological horror starring James McAvoy as Kevin, a man with 23 different personalities who kidnaps three young girls and holds them hostage as they are tormented by the people who live inside Kevin’s head as a twenty-fourth personality known as “the beast” emerges. Split was just released this past Friday, January 20th, and it has a better score on Rotten Tomatoes and Metacritic than any of Shyalaman’s films since The Sixth Sense. As of today, Sunday the 22nd, Split holds a 76% on RT and a 64 on MC. Neither of those numbers would be impressive for any other director, except for Zack Snyder or Michael Bay. I have seen a few reviews for Split, and they all say good things about the film.

I never once thought Shyamalan would ever release a film that most people could like. That said, I will see and review Split next weekend. Let’s see if I’ll be proven wrong.

“I take a lot fo pride in being myself. I’m comfortable with who I am.”-James McAvoy

